Essential oils in skincare. What do you think?

I am currently dealing with some horrendous breakouts due to a glycolic acid sensitivity I developed. I am now trying to weed out any other potential aggressors and have noticed a fair amount of products contain essential oils. Anyone have any thoughts about these often included ingredients?

Oh no, I’m so sorry you’re going through that, @Snow. I’m no expert here, but I found this article which is interesting. It seems that there are definitely some oils which may not be great for your skin. (I found it especially interesting that tea tree oil can actually exacerbate the problems it’s frequently employed to treat if not used properly.) Maybe it’s worth checking to see if any of the oils listed are included in your facial products? I can tell you that oil is a big part of my skincare routine. I use Malin + Goetz Recovery Treatment Oil twice per day, every day. It’s a blend of oils designed to combat the signs of aging, and I find it to be very soothing. I blend a few drops into my morning SPF and evening moisturizer, and my sensitive skin seems to love it. Of course, not everyone responds to products and ingredients in the same way, and if your skin is out of balance due to the glycolic sensitivity, even relatively mild ingredients might be adding to the irritation. I hope you’re able to identify what’s going on and get some relief!

1 Like

Hi Snow,

Paula Begoun, skincare guru, has been mentioned in a different MSA Forum thread - she has a lot of fans here on the forum. Here’s a link to her thoughts on essential oils for skin. Because of her research and writing, I avoid essential oils like the plague! Hope it helps.

1 Like