What is your go-to resource (outside of MSA) for beauty & product reviews?

I was curious what resources members rely on for beauty advice or product reviews, in addition to the reviews on MSA?

For me, Allure (the publication and digital space) has always been a gold standard for me to confirm the best of products from reviews on MSA.

The Violet Grey Blog is another great one I stumbled across recently.

For Podcasts, I’ve been a long-time fan of “The Skinny Confidential: Him & Her Podcast” I’ve been listening to them since 2016.

I was wondering what hidden gems members might recommend?

2 Likes

Instagram, honestly.

1 Like

I’ve been a big fan of Paula Begoun for years. I discovered her when I accidentally found her first book at the bookstore many, many years ago. I followed her advice diligently, and it honestly saved my face. I know her company sold to Unilever last year, and many people seemed unhappy about that, but I still buy her products and use her Beautypedia for skin care and makeup advice because that advice still works for me.

5 Likes

@Renee, how did you know I just ordered this :laughing:

I kept seeing it on so many best-of lists that I decided to.

Was it the “Don’t Go To The Cosmetic Counter Without Me Book”? I’ve heard it’s a classic.

@Jessica-MSA is there anyone in particular on Instagram that you really like, or find that their advice is usually spot-on for you? I find myself not always gravitating to more of the popular experts or influencers, just because I feel like my skin reacts poorly to most things :laughing:

1 Like

Yay, Paula Begoun! When I was a kid, my mother brought home Blue Eyeshadow Should Be Illegal (it was the 80s :laughing:). I enjoyed and used her advice but wasn’t into skin care enough to keep up with her. Happy to find out about Paula’s Choice! I’ll have to take a look at this Beautypedia, so thanks for pointing the way.

1 Like